The earliest signs of Catholic activity in Quarry Hill go back to the days of Dr. Henry Backhaus, the first priest on the Sandhurst goldfields.
Archbishop Carr laid the foundation stone of St. Joseph's, Quarry Hill on August 29th, 1906. The school opened for classes on April 30th, 1907. Initial enrolment was 138. Parents who were miners, railway employees or labourers registered the majority of students. The school was placed in the care of the Sisters of Mercy. The first Sister in Charge was Sr. M. Gabrielle Halifax, supported by dedicated Lay Staff. Records of later years showed that the enrolment steadied at 160 before reaching a ceiling of over 200 in the late 1980s. Sisters of Mercy filled the role of School Principal until 1984. Since 1985 a Lay Principal has been appointed. St. Joseph’s School celebrated its Centenary in September 2006.
St. Joseph’s Parish Primary School is a learning institution that educates the children of Quarry Hill and district in a safe, happy and supportive environment. Central to the aim of the school is the faith development and nurturing of Church life of each member of the school community. 2017 census figures indicate an enrolment of 291 students, who are educated across 13 classrooms. All pupils were instructed by staff who utilised the Victorian Curriculum. This, coupled with our Catholic heritage that is taught with the support of the Source of Life curriculum and Catholic Identity provided a holistic approach to learning that assisted our school in reaching our school’s ultimate aim: That all children reach their full potential in a safe environment that celebrates Catholicism and models life on the Gospel teachings of Christ Jesus.
Our Principal, Mrs Joan Coldwell, along with our Canonical Administrator (Parish Priest), Father Tony Shallue are our current school leaders and together they actively support and lead our school community.
St. Joseph's School is blessed with a rich history and a fruitful future.